Raspberry Orange Sorbet

Yes, we went blueberry picking but the blueberry bushes just happen to be near the raspberry bushes. Do you think I could walk by the raspberries without popping a few in my mouth? Not a chance.  These bushes were dripping raspberries and nobody was picking them.  I wasn’t going to be the one to walk on by. However we were leaving so I thought I’d grab just a few.  A full bucket later…well I couldn’t help myself.  Filling a bucket of raspberries is much quicker than filling a bucket of blueberries.

For my raspberry sorbet I consulted a Saveur Magazine recipe but instead of using the called for lemon juice as I have done previously, I used fresh orange juice.  I even went the extra mile to add fresh orange zest so the orange flavor would be more pronounced.

Raspberry Orange Sorbet

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 cups water

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

6 cups of fresh raspberries

3 tablespoons fresh organic orange juice

zest from 1 small to medium-sized organic orange

In a saucepan, bring the sugar and water to a boil, letting the sugar dissolve.  Turn the heat to a simmer and let the simple syrup become, well, syrupy. This could take up to 5 minutes.

Pour the syrup in a metal or glass bowl and whisk in the vanilla.  Let chill for 15 minutes in the freezer.

Now you have to decide whether you want your sorbet to have seeds or not have seeds.  If you want smooth, elegant sorbet, you will strain the raspberry purée and discard the seeds.  If the seeds don’t bother you, and you don’t mind your sorbet looking a little less glamorous, it is okay to leave them in.  I usually leave them in.  I know raspberry seeds can be very annoying when they get stuck in your teeth but truth be told, the extra step of removing them is a pain, too.

I digressed.  The next step is, in a blender or food processor, to purée your berries with the simple syrup. (Leave a cup of the berries aside if you want to later add some whole berries to your freezing sorbet. These will have seeds, so if you really don’t want seeds-put all of your berries in the blender.)

Using a fine sieve, scrape your purée to remove the seeds.

Stir in the orange juice and zest.  Transfer to your ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  It will take around 25 minutes.  The sorbet should still be a little slushy.  At this point add the set aside berries and continue freezing for another 5 minutes or so.  Spoon the sorbet into a plastic container* and give it about an hour in the freezer to “set”.

*I use a quart sized container.  The original recipe says it makes about 5 cups.  For me it is more like 4 cups and I used an extra cup of berries.  Saveur’s recipe called for 5 cups of berries.  I upped it to 6.

I'm listening.

